General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Biking in a City Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-01 7:49 AM

Subject: Biking in a City
Hi everyone, I'm somewhat new to triathlons (specifically biking) and just bought my first road bike a little over a month ago. I've been taking it out on the weekends and going for rides, getting used to it, etc. but one of the biggest problems I see going forward is that I live in the heart of downtown of a fairly large city (Boston). I have no car to transport my bike and myself out to the suburbs for long rides and so far I've been able to consistently go for ~2 hour rides every Saturday and Sunday morning (early, before there are cars on the roads), but I still feel like I spend a large amount of my time sitting at stop signs, busy intersections and weaving into traffic because someone blocked the bike lane. It's incredibly difficult to just ride, especially in the mornings because even if I wake up at 5am, the roads are already crowded. I've tried biking/walking/running trails but those are 10 miles max and usually crowded with people.

Does anyone else have this issue? Should I just suck it up and keep doing my start and stop rides? I've been thinking about also buying a bike trainer so I can ride indoors, especially during the week before work - is this something others have done? Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks!

2014-05-01 7:57 AM
in reply to: pcon

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Biking in a City