General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Reasonable Cost? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-02 10:24 PM

Subject: Reasonable Cost?
Hi all,

I am just wondering what the general opinion is about the cost of a triathlon. I have been racing in a local triathlon for a few years--small town, pool sprint triathlon (less than 300 participants). I seem to remember paying about $45-$50 to participate and the proceeds go to the local swim teams. This year, I was late in signing up and I saw that the cost has gone up to $85! In addition, they are requiring that you join the national triathlon organization for an additional $12--this would put it at $97.

I am tempted not to do it, even though I enjoy this particular race in my town--it is a well-run event.

I wrote to the organizers wondering why it was so expensive, but no response.

What are your views on this? Just curious...it has kind of put a damper on my enthusiasm, because I like to do a lot of difference races and you can't be throwing money around...

2014-05-02 10:32 PM
in reply to: itricorvallis

User image

Subject: RE: Reasonable Cost?
That's standard for sprint races in Idaho... They only go up from there. If you race more than three times, get a yearly license and that will save you 12 bucks at sign up.
2014-05-02 10:33 PM

User image

New user
Manassas, Virginia
That sounds about right for late sign-up in my area.

And the $12 is for a one-day USAT membership -- basically covers you insurance wise. If you don't race at USAT sanctioned events then you don't need to pay the $12!

My advice, sign up early! But the prices will inevitably go up as the sport grows in popularity.
2014-05-02 10:39 PM

User image

Pearland,Tx
Originally posted by itricorvallis

Hi all,