General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » any advice for a newbie? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-05-25 4:17 PM

User image

Subject: any advice for a newbie?
I'm new to this site and new to triathlons. I'm aiming for my first triathlon in August which gives me 10 weeks to train. I'm aiming for the olympic distance instead of the sprint but I'm a little worried as it seems most sites recommend that you have done at least one sprint before you attempt an olympic one. I'm fairly fit and the sprint doesn't seem like a big enough challenge (pretty much just a good gym session), although I have no previous experience and that's what I'm nervous about.

Any advice would be really welcome!

Also, can anyone recommend a good 10 week training plan? The one on this site looks great but I can't afford to upgrade to silver!

Thanks!

2014-05-26 8:42 AM
in reply to: Sio

User image

Expert
Somewhere in the Swamps of Philly
Subject: RE: any advice for a newbie?
Originally posted by Sio

I'm new to this site and new to triathlons. I'm aiming for my first triathlon in August which gives me 10 weeks to train. I'm aiming for the olympic distance instead of the sprint but I'm a little worried as it seems most sites recommend that you have done at least one sprint before you attempt an olympic one. I'm fairly fit and the sprint doesn't seem like a big enough challenge (pretty much just a good gym session), although I have no previous experience and that's what I'm nervous about.

Any advice would be really welcome!

Also, can anyone recommend a good 10 week training plan? The one on this site looks great but I can't afford to upgrade to silver!

Thanks!