General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Training Plan Reality Check Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-26 8:53 AM

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: Ironman Training Plan Reality Check
Hi All,

I'm training for my first IM although it's 10 months away, I am new to triathlon training, so I'm starting way early and wanted to get a general idea if my game plan makes sense. I based my training on the 6-month IM training plan of the IM website. The entire training plan was based upon time, so I translated it to distances using 9 MM run, a 18 mph bike and a 1:40/100 meter swim, which are my "cruising" speeds right now. I'm totally new to biking and although I haven't swam in forever, I was a pretty stand out swimmer in high school so it came back pretty quick. I've been running for years.

I took the first month of the six month plan and am doing that right now as my "base" then I plan to follow the plan starting 6 months out as it increases. some of the higher end workout weeks at the peak seem pretty steep and I'd like to get an idea if this is overkill or am I on the right track. My conservative goal for the IM is to get under 12 hours with an internal hope that I can get close to 10.

Currently I'm doing 4,500 meter/wk swim, 19 miles/week running and 72 miles/week cycling. I am currently working up to 92 miles biking, as that is what my planned base is to maintain for the next four months. Here is how it is broken out currently (with the paces I did last week for refernce):

Sunday - 40 mile bike (to be increased to 60 over the next couple of weeks) @ 18mph
Monday - 8 mile run @ 9MM
Tuesday - 3,000meter swim @ 1:40 100 meter pace
Wednesday - OFF
Thursday - 20 mile bike @ 20 mph ave
Friday - 8 mil run @ 9MM
Saturday - 1,500 meter swim @ 1:35 100 meter pace / 12 mile bike @ 21 mph / 3 mile run at 7:45 MM

I will eventually build to a max week of 9,500 meters swimming, 200 miles biking and 33 miles running. That seems pretty intense to me.