General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When to get a tri bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-06-27 8:29 AM

Subject: When to get a tri bike
I was reading the aero road bike vs tri bike thread and it made me think. I'm new to the sport, and am looking at bikes. I have a older road bike, upgraded with dura ace components. I found a new 2009 Felt B16 for around $1300. I'm only a junior athlete and was just wondering, when do you suggest getting a tri bike?

2014-06-27 9:02 AM
in reply to: standbyzero

User image

Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: RE: When to get a tri bike
I'm a tri newbie as well. Here is my plan. This year I am doing 3-4 sprints. I only have a MTB, but I put slicks on it, got some tri bike shoes, and SPD-SL pedals. I have been riding it on the trainer like crazy. Next year I plan to step up to Olympic distances. In the offseason, I will either pick up a good road bike on year end clearance or Craigslist. One that will last me years (think Ultegra as a minimum). In 2016, I plan to do a HIM or even an IM & in the offseason before that year, I will add a tri bike to the mix.

If your budget allows for you to have an N+1 bike collection, then go get it now. If you are only doing sprints or olympics, I think your DA roadie will be fine. If you are planning to go longer, that's when you should consider the tri.
2014-06-27 9:09 AM

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
There is no right or wrong time. A lot of people think they need to work their way up the "hierarchy" or "earn" a tri bike... there's no qualification. If you want to go faster then you currently do on your road, mtn, cruiser, or ill fitting bike, then it's the right time.
2014-06-27 9:15 AM
in reply to: Leegoocrap

User image

Extreme Veteran
Collierville, Tennessee