General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Heart of the Lakes - 2014 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-14 8:47 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Eden Prairie, MN, Minnesota
Subject: Heart of the Lakes - 2014
Okay. There's less than a week until this race, so it's about time to start a thread.

This is my first year doing HOLT. I'm a little concerned about not having a packet pickup until the morning of the race - I'm one that likes to have everything together the night before. But, based on all of the reviews from previous years, it seems like it'll be a well-run event.

Does anyone have any course advice? There don't appear to be any killer hills on either the bike or the run, so I'm hoping that'll lead to some speedy times.

2014-07-14 9:00 AM
in reply to: Farlig

User image

Expert
Lakeville, MN
Subject: RE: Heart of the Lakes - 2014
Originally posted by Farlig

Okay. There's less than a week until this race, so it's about time to start a thread.

This is my first year doing HOLT. I'm a little concerned about not having a packet pickup until the morning of the race - I'm one that likes to have everything together the night before. But, based on all of the reviews from previous years, it seems like it'll be a well-run event.

Does anyone have any course advice? There don't appear to be any killer hills on either the bike or the run, so I'm hoping that'll lead to some speedy times.

This is one of my favorite races, but I was bummed when they schedule Du nationals the day before, so I won;'t be racing it this year

As far as the course, the first few miles out of transition along Hwy 55 are relatively flat/false flat/slight up hill. After you turn right, there will be a couple smaller hills, and the only somewhat big hill comes IMMEDIATELY after a long downhill, so get your speed up, and you should be ok.