General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Worst injury during swim? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2014-08-07 12:55 PM

User image

Subject: Worst injury during swim?
Like any bloody noses or B&B arms or legs?

I'm doing my first 2 tris very shortly and I'm an ultra competitive Upper MOP obstacle racer and marathoner although I'm new to bike and swim so I could struggle a bit? My swim has improved in the pool quite nice so I kind of wanna mix it up with the pack!! I have no OWS exp and one is an Atlantic city swim but in the bay and not the ocean? How bad is a bay chop wise?Other is in a lake! Is it wise to wann get kicked or punched so I can really feel like a triathlete... Oh I bought a sleeveless wetsuit but not sure if I will need for lake or not? Any suggestions on knowing if I should wear it? Never wore one before either!! Thanks for replys

2014-08-07 1:37 PM
in reply to: rodzilla

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Subject: RE: Worst injury during swim?
Originally posted by rodzilla

I'm doing my first 2 tris very shortly and I'm an ultra competitive Upper MOP obstacle racer and marathoner although I'm new to bike and swim so I could struggle a bit? My swim has improved in the pool quite nice so I kind of wanna mix it up with the pack!! I have no OWS exp and one is an Atlantic city swim but in the bay and not the ocean? How bad is a bay chop wise?Other is in a lake! Is it wise to wann get kicked or punched so I can really feel like a triathlete... Oh I bought a sleeveless wetsuit but not sure if I will need for lake or not? Any suggestions on knowing if I should wear it? Never wore one before either!! Thanks for replys

Well there was the lady in a florida race last year that got kicked in teh nose passed out and drowned. True story. Wanting to get kicked & punched to feel like a triathlete sounds to me like a way to deal with race day nerves & anxiety.