General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Xterra race with no bike.... help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-09 3:59 PM

User image

Master
Mishicot, Wisconsin
Subject: Xterra race with no bike.... help!

Hi there,

I have been doing tri's for around 10 years and this year am thinking about breaking into off road races.  I have an Xterra in my backyard but I have one problem.

I don't have a mountain bike and really am not ready to put big money into one without knowing if I will like this type of training or racing.  Does anyone have any ideas for me as to what I can do?  I don't have any friends who have mountain bikes that would work for racing so that is out.  I may be willing to put a little money into a bike but not much.

I would also love some training tips if people have them!

2015-01-09 4:08 PM
in reply to: #5081810

User image

Subject: RE: Xterra race with no bike.... help!
What area are you in? Perhaps someone could loan you one? You break it you buy it kinda agreement. I'm out because I don't really have anything to loan you. I do have an old Gary Fisher, but it is old and likely not suitable for a competition these days.
2015-01-09 6:46 PM
in reply to: crea0029

Have you tried offroad at all?

I bought a junk yard bike for groceries. Point is, if you move around town, you may not want to do it with an expensive bike. You can buy a very cheap mountain bike, try it on trails. If you like it and decide to race, then buy an expensive one.

I am talking 50$ or so. You don't look for the brand, just one that works fine and does not need injection of additional money.

Try to find one with a good shifter (just try it). It is much more important on trail biking then road biking. Whenever you loose equilibrium because you get stuck, slide or simply climb more then expected, the reflex is to down shift. You must therefore be able to do it fast.