General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Staying Motivated Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-03-10 11:23 AM

Subject: Staying Motivated
I started training for my first Half Ironman, my first triathlon actually, in January. Prior to this, I'd been just running (marathon/distance) and swimming (1-3 miles/day) as routine exercise, in addition to a heavy weight routine. Here's the thing: none of that stuff really burned me out. Now that I'm really in the meat of my HIM training plan, I've suddenly hit a spot where I just don't have the drive and motivation anymore. Taking a few days off for now, then getting back to it for sure. However, I'm wondering what everyone else does when / if they hit this kind of slump to get back into a full-out training mindset? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2015-03-10 12:46 PM
in reply to: #5099470

User image

Wakefield, Massachusetts
Subject: RE: Staying Motivated
I don't have an answer for you, but would love to hear what others do! With all the snow we got in MA last month my training plan totally fell apart, and even though spring is now on it's way, I just can't get back into it.
2015-03-10 12:58 PM
in reply to: richmcbride13

User image

Master
Los Angeles, CA
For me I take a couple days off doing other stuff like hiking, bowling, or ping pong. Or take up a new big project around the house.
2015-03-10 2:22 PM

User image

This happens to me, and I think it is quite normal. Watching races, like Kona or ITU racing online gets me fired up, as does a video I have from USAT Nationals bike course. Or just going and running a race helps get the juices flowing again too.

I hear you though on the lack of motivation. I start training for my first HIM in April and now after having lost about a month of really consistent training due to a big renovation/move I find myself struggling just to get into a routine and or to generally give a $hit about getting up early and training!