General Discussion Triathlon Talk » more nutrition questions - weekly meal prep? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-04-25 12:17 PM

User image

Subject: more nutrition questions - weekly meal prep?
Ok, I'm back with more questions... Sorry guys, but I'm still learning!

So, I constantly get sucked back into busy/hectic life that my dinners usually go in forms of hot dogs, pizza, sushi, burritos, or InN Out burgers...

It's terrible. I want to start dedicating my Sunday mornings to preparing weekly container meals like a cross fit friend of mine... But! I don't do cross fit, I do triathlon. So I'm assuming my meals should look different.

Do any of you do this? How do you like it? What are some of your meals?

Example: handful of roasted potatoes, handful of roasted broccoli, handful of chicken breast??

Any advice and variety is greatly appreciated! I'm excited to give this a shot. Thanks!

2015-04-25 12:30 PM
in reply to: rizztalah

User image

Expert
Madison, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: more nutrition questions - weekly meal prep?
I prep once per weekend, usually gets me through Thursday. Below is what I prep usually

Eggs (Scrambled with kale mixed in)
Wild and Brown Rice
Chicken Breasts 2-4
Beef 2-3 lbs w/ seasoning
Pasta w/pesto sauce
Tuna and or salmon

Black Beans
Corn
Squash
Zucchini
Almonds mixed w/ Chocolate chips
Cherry Tomatoes

I rotate other stuff in each week as well, but this gives me a good based on foundation to build for each meal. I also have 2 jars of PB on the ready in my fridge and snack on them with bananas all week. I also have lots of fruits ready to go. My pantry has lots of dry stuff in bulk to add to these meals: slivered almonds, chia seeds, flaxseed, etc. Takes about 1-2 hours of prep and everything is set to go for the week.

2015-04-25 1:08 PM
in reply to: bcagle25

User image

Bronze member

I'm not training or anything but I understand needing quick healthy meals!