General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you carry a flat tire changing kit during your Tri Race? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2015-05-16 11:30 PM

User image

Vancouver, British Columbia
Subject: Do you carry a flat tire changing kit during your Tri Race?
This might seem like a stupid question for those who are quick at changing flats, but for me, I'm slow at it and my race would probably be done if I got a flat. So I ask myself, is it worth the extra weight to carry?

I've got the little zipper bag that straps onto the seat post, In there is a tube a few plastic tire levers and a CO2 canister.

Of course, on long traing rides carrying the kit makes total sense, but for a race, so much time would be lost changing your tire, that I don't know if it is worth it?

My race is in 2 days. This is only my 3rd Sprint, so I'm still learning lots of things...

2015-05-16 11:57 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Subject: RE: Do you carry a flat tire changing kit during your Tri Race?
Yes. The 8 ozs of extra weight is not going to make or break your day at all. A lot of races don't have bike support or the ones that do, they just don't show up (at least the ones I've been to). Last year I had it bad. Both my spares came off somewhere and I got a flat naturally (first one ever during a race). Result: me walking 5 miles back to transition. I knew I wasn't going to place with the flat (was going to be my first race where I was going to place though!) but not having to walk 5 miles in my socks/bare feet sure would have been nice.

Edited by Blastman 2015-05-16 11:57 PM
2015-05-16 11:58 PM
in reply to: WhiteCatzs

User image

Yes I do. The biggest reason for bringing it is that I don't see any benefit from not bringing it
I, like you, will not compete for any podium finishes and carrying that extra few grams will not be noticeable at all neither on my legs nor my time.