General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie Swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-08-17 12:39 PM

Subject: Newbie Swimming
I'm a total newbie on triathlons and swimming. I enjoy biking and running so thought I might as well pick up the swimming and try my first sprint triathlete once I've properly trained....but I'm worried about the swim, I can't possibly imagine swimming 500-600M without stopping...

I know how to "swim", but not well. Basically my knowledge is swim lessons as a kid and I can basically survive in the water. In freestyle I swim about 100M and feel like I have no air in the tank...I've tried slowing down, breathing every two or three strokes, etc. but I can't seem to get things to click.

The questions:

1. I've been reading on this total immersion swimming technique where they basically do some flutter kick only when their arms are moving as opposed to the constant little up and down kicks you learn as a kid. For triathlons, should I shoot for the total immersion technique or is that total BS? The logic behind the total immersion technique is you use less energy and can save more energy for the other sports and can swim much further distances....should I stick to the constant small kick you learn as a kid or try picking up on this new technique?

2. Based on the answer to no. 1 I'm basically at a point where I think I need to take proper swimming lessons so I can make sure I'm practicing correctly and not forming bad habits while not improving either. Should I simply go to a local swim club and do this or should I get someone specific towards tri-training?

Thanks in advance!

2015-08-17 2:12 PM
in reply to: bob_frapples

User image

Subject: RE: Newbie Swimming
Originally posted by bob_frapples