General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help with endurance swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-09-16 12:07 PM

, England
Subject: Help with endurance swimming
Hi,

So I learnt to swim around 3 weeks ago and decided I wanted to do a triathlon and swim 3 times a week now, but I'm not good at doing long distances. I've found I can do one length and with the training I've been doing I can do it pretty fast but can't do more than a length, so I was wondering how do I train to be able to do longer distances. I have been working on technique and breathing and feel I have them comfortably for how long I've been swimming so anything in particular I should work on or be drilling in order to swim more than 25m (which is kinda required for triathlons,

Thanks for the help
Will

2015-09-16 2:24 PM
in reply to: will.f.c

Subject: RE: Help with endurance swimming
Will,

Congrats on learning to swim. Getting out of your comfort zone says a lot. I'd recommend structuring your pool time. I'd focus on breaking your time into 3 phases. Warm up, main set, cool down. Seek a local masters team if you want to get better. A typical workout looks like:

Warm up
400 W/U mainly Free, but you can work in other strokes
250 drills mixed (depending on what event and time of year) These include 3 stroke 6 kick, 1 arm swimming, lots of dolphin kicking on front and back, swimming on back for 12 kicks then turning over on front for 12 kicks hands at your side, free breathing every 3, 5, 7, 9 strokes, catchup drills.
200-500 pull work with buoy with fins and paddles focusing on reach and hand entry.
main set
4 or 5 x something like 100's, 200's on your interval time
Wednesdays are always sprint days so we do 3 x 10- 25's or 3 x 5 - 50's.
Sometimes just a lot of kick drills or IM work
Cool down
200-500 pull or slow free breathing every 3,5,7,9.
Most workouts we do anywhere from 2k- 3k in an hour.