General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike size question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-11-23 1:37 PM

User image

New user
Subject: Bike size question
Looking for some opinions . . . .

Have an opportunity to buy a very solid bike at a great price for my wife to use to train for her first next year.

It's definitley too small. It is a 48cm and she is 5-6/7ish and should probably be on a 54.

The price for the bike is that good though. What do you think? Is it even possible to adjust a 48 to be comfortable for someone 5-7? What I'm thinking here is that we may not be able to raise up the bars if we need to. Is it completely impractical or unsafe?

She is a complete beginner. This would be short term, for the year maybe to see if she likes it before investing in a new bike that fits properly.

Thanks.

2015-11-23 1:56 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: RE: Bike size question
Bike size varies too much from manufacterer to manufacterer to know honestly. I don't think that a 54 would be an appropriate size for a person 5-7 though. I ride a 54 and I'm 6' tall.

Look up the manufacterer's sizing chart to get an idea of the size range that would fit your wife. I honestly think a 48 would be closer than a 54. Regardless of the deal, I'd stear clear if it's too far out of her range.

Edited by 3mar 2015-11-23 1:57 PM
2015-11-23 2:02 PM
in reply to: 3mar

User image

Pro

Originally posted by 3mar Bike size varies too much from manufacterer to manufacterer to know honestly. I don't think that a 54 would be an appropriate size for a person 5-7 though. I ride a 54 and I'm 6' tall. Look up the manufacterer's sizing chart to get an idea of the size range that would fit your wife. I honestly think a 48 would be closer than a 54. Regardless of the deal, I'd stear clear if it's too far out of her range.