General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Teachers Who Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-31 9:08 PM

Regular
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Subject: Teachers Who Tri
So, I'm a school teacher, and now that I'm back at work, I'm worried my training will fall apart.

I've gotten up at 5:00 twice this morning to do workouts (I think this is the only way to get in four workouts per week, which is my school-time goal), but this morning, I couldn't go because my dh wasn't yet home from work (big case at his firm -- really working all. the. time.)

How do the rest of you teachers keep things going once you're back in the saddle? I'm a high school English teacher, so the paper load is pretty intense on top of just the early hours. And then there's the two-year-old at home...

Ack! Inspire me, triathletes!

2006-08-31 10:04 PM
in reply to: #528357

User image

Extreme Veteran
Surprise, AZ
Subject: RE: Teachers Who Tri
Hey

First year middle school teacher here. I have to wake up at 4:00 to workout but I am in bed by 10:00. I actually found that I am more energized with 6 hours of sleep then 8 (go figure). When I work out in the morning I cook my food the night before allowing me to eat then shower at school saving me some precious minutes before class.
2006-09-01 4:46 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
High School teacher here, I get up early during the week around 4:00am and do my workouts then. Bike or runs at home and for swims I go in to school about an hour early and use the schools pool. It helps a lot that my daughter is now nearly 17(how did that happen?) and she drives herself to her school.
2006-09-01 6:35 AM

Expert
Miller Place, Long Island
Hi
I think I may actually submit this as an article...