General Discussion Triathlon Talk » newbie here signed up for a sprint Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-15 4:16 PM

Subject: newbie here signed up for a sprint
Hello,
i have decided to sign up for a sprint , I'm going to be doing the Peasantman in May.
I'm going to follow the 16weeks original training.
where should i go to find out what type of equipment i will need.
this race will be swam in open water, i think i will need more than just a regular swim suite.
thank you

2016-01-16 6:15 AM
in reply to: #5162029

User image

Expert
Floriduh
Subject: RE: newbie here signed up for a sprint
Basic stuff you need are a swim suit, goggles, bike, bike helmet, and running shoes. Beyond this, other equipment increases either speed or comfort. You probably don't need a wetsuit, but many people wear either one or two-piece race suits so there is no need to change clothing during the race. (For example, putting on a shirt when you are wet is difficult). Bike shoes are a common speed-related item but require clipless pedals. Sunglasses are also a good idea.
2016-01-16 10:20 AM
in reply to: Jmrire

Middleton, Wisconsin
I have also just signed up for my first sprint tri! Mine is June 12. I bought some tri shorts and a race belt on amazon. I still need to get a helmet! I plan on renting a wetsuit if the water temperature is going to be cool. I'm kind of a baby when it comes to cold water! I found a 12 week program online that starts off pretty easy. Plus I have way more than 12 weeks until my race! So after the 12 weeks I can focus on getting faster and going longer distances.
Good Luck!
2016-01-16 8:20 PM
in reply to: 0

Sarasota, Florida
This was my first post here and was curious how it all worked with transitions and gear.
I found the most necessary item I bought was tri shorts.
What I actually ended up with:
tri shorts
running shoes with socks
goggles
bike and helmet
saddle bag with spare tube, tools and hand pump
slicks for my mtb
32 oz water bottle