General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 3 months to Ironman 70.3 enough time? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-03-18 1:41 AM

Subject: 3 months to Ironman 70.3 enough time?
Hi all! Newbie here!

So currently I'm training for my first full marathon which will be on April 9th. Because of this I've dedicated the last 4 months pretty much exclusively to running. I haven't swum or cycled in about 3 months. My plans for the year were to complete this marathon and then refocus onto tri training with a view to competeing in a 70.3 in October.

However a new 70.3 has been announced for right in the city where I live. The start line is literally a 20 minute walk from where I live. However it's taking place in June which gives me only 3 months to train, or slightly over 2 months from when the marathon is on.

Next week I'm going to start taper for the marathon so I'm going to start swimming and cycling leisurely maybe once a week. Once the marathon is done I'm thinking about taking a couple weeks off running and focusing exclusively on swimming and cycling, and maybe from the start of May reintroducing running.

Last year I competed in a couple of olympic distances so I have some sort of a base. I am confident that I can easily swim the 1.9K swim and at the moment a 21K run is no problem for me. That said I've never cycled more than 50K or so, it's easily the weakest of the disciplines for me. So the idea of the 90k is intimidating.

In peoples experiences is this enough time to train or am I setting myself up for failure? Thanks for reading!

2016-03-18 7:37 AM
in reply to: Busantri

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: 3 months to Ironman 70.3 enough time?