General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Chafing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-03-24 7:27 AM

User image

Birmingham, Alabama
Subject: Chafing
So I've been increasing mileage on the bike lately and went on a pretty aggressive (for me anyway) group ride Tuesday night. As a result, I came home with some raw skin in my nether-regions.

The good news is I've got some experience with treating chafing and have a product that is wonderful for getting things back to normal (boudreaux's butt paste).

My question is what do I need to do to prevent chafing in the first place?

I ride in tri-shorts normally since that's what I'll race in. Do I need to get a good pair of bike shorts instead? Do I just need some time to allow my perineal region to get accustomed to it? Is there a good product to apply before that will wash out of my chamois?

Any help is appreciated, from the bottom of my..umm...well, thanks in advance.

2016-03-24 7:47 AM
in reply to: marti038

User image

Subject: RE: Chafing
Chamois Butt'r or some variation. I never ride without it. Personally, I find the Euro version works better with my skin, but it does contain menthol and witch hazel, so consider yourself warned if you try that version.

On race day, I like Skin Sake, because it does not come off in the water or with sweat. I put it on before the race starts, and I am good all day. I have never done anything longer than a HIM, though.
2016-03-24 8:50 AM

User image

, South Carolina
HA!!! I am really lmao cause I have Boudreaux's on right now! As we all know water or sweat ain't no lubricant!
I start with a good pair of Pearl Izumi's or DeSotot Tri shorts, Butt Butt'r for the mid to back area and A&D ointment in the creases and folds where my legs come together. Also for the male anatomy.