General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Complete newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-04-01 5:04 PM

Subject: Complete newbie
Hi, Help. Was talking to a surgeon I used to work with, who does triathlons and iron man comps and suggested I have a go at training for a beginners event as a way of losing a fair bit of weight. Am 6' tall and weigh 242 was 259 after my grandson passed away at 5 months old, from unknown causes. Any way have a little arthritis in the knees and was after advice on a running program for beginners with problem knees. Weight not coming off quickly enough. Need to get to 95 Kg for a charity parachute jump in my grandson's memory. Any help would be appreciated
Cheers

2016-04-02 12:21 PM
in reply to: morley69

User image

Subject: RE: Complete newbie
Welcome to the forum! Sorry about the grandson, I know that has been tough. You have a good goal to work towards for him.
I'm a relative newbie too. Just started last year. I started at 56 with bad feet and knees, specifically arthritis in knees. I had a couple of bad falls snow skiing that had me in pain whenever I tried to run. This went on for years and I just wrote off running for myself.