General Discussion Triathlon Talk » At a crossroad on whether I can continue swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-08 6:32 PM

Subject: At a crossroad on whether I can continue swimming
First time Tri participant here. My race is June 12th. It's a sprint. I'm active and I run several 5-10Ks a year, HIIT training 2-3 times a week, etc. I figured a triathlon would be a challenge but I did NOT foresee the swimming to be so difficult. I've been swimming now for about 4 months (well, really 3 because I took a month of in mid March when I hurt my shoulder from swimming) and while I've increase my yardage from day 1, I'm not really making much improvement and I'm not feeling confident about this race.

I started with some group lessons at the Y which did initially help me go from 50 yards to 100 at a time. In a given workout I would log about 1200 yards in an hour- with several breaks in between. I do have a coach and I had one 1:1 lesson where she gave me some additional pointers. My last workout for my main set I did 100,200,300,100,200 which was an improvement for me but I definitely struggled through it. I'm also doing 300 yards ~15 minutes which is super super slow.