General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swim exhaustion Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-03 9:14 PM

Subject: swim exhaustion
I am new to sprints and completed one in 2013, and will try again end of this summer. My biggest problem is the swim. Yesterday I did a 1/2 mile open swim for practice and was exhausted half way through. I found that I lost my breath easily even though I tried to go slowly. last one out of the water
I have been trying to exhale completely but find that I just can't get enough air when I inhale. I sure need some advice.

2016-06-03 10:12 PM
in reply to: #5185301

Subject: RE: swim exhaustion
Breathing is natural. Dont make it an artificial gesture.

Simply doing so will make it easier on you. Think about your bike or your run. Do you have to do anything special to breathe? It just happens naturally...

Being in the water should not change anything to this fact.
2016-06-03 10:19 PM
in reply to: podster

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
I would have a coach take a look at your form, particularly your breathing, and give you some advice. Most likely a form issue, rather than fitness. It's also possible that anxiety or cold water played a role-hard to say without knowing specifics.
2016-06-03 11:23 PM

Sarasota, Florida
I am an adult onset swimmer and the swim was difficult for me to crack having no coaching.
Many people will say time alone won't make you better but when it comes to breathing I found this is not true.

If it helps, this is what worked for me:
use 2 beat kicks (a lot of argument here but this is just what I chose)
swim a lot more, 3-4 xs per week.
Practice 2 stroke breathing if you're just using 3 and get comfortable switching it up if you wish to use 3 stroke at all.
Kickboard drills - keep one arm on the kickboard and kick at least a hundred yards each session switching every 50 or 25. It will begin to feel natural.