General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Body weight before and after bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-11 1:42 AM

Subject: Body weight before and after bike
Hello Friends,

I am a beginner entering in to IM 70.3, i am trying to understand the loss of weight before and after training and how much fluid i should be taking to compensate the loss...

I did an hour +10 mins (70 mins) of indoor bike ride to cover a distance of 40Km,

weighed myself before training = 72.1 kgs
weighed myself after training = 73.6 kgs..

During training, i also had 1200 ml of electrolytes + 150 gm of carbo hydrates..
My assumption was 72.1 + 1.2 kg (water) + 150 gm (gel) = 73.4 kg..
I should have lost something during an hour long session which i haven't considered in above training...
some how i am not able to arrive at 73.6 kg..
what could be the reason ?.. am i consuming too much of liquids or something else is happening in body ?

welcome any suggestions.

2016-07-11 5:38 AM
in reply to: prabs

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Body weight before and after bike

there are at least two schools of thought on this.

a) the first is to drink to thirst. Drink when your body tells you to. It knows best
b) the second is drink to a schedule. Determine how much your body loses, how much you need to replace for optimal performance and execute. this can be oz/min, bottles per hour....

people that believe in b do the test your talking about. Weigh yourself before, do excercise, compensate for what you drink and pee, weight yourself after, figure out a sweat rate, figure out a maximal body loss they want to achieve (say 2%) and then calculate a schedule that probably includes electrolyte replacement. People in this camp will say that more than 2% body weight loss is sub optimal for performance....need x mg of sodium per L to prevent hyponetremia....bla bla bla