General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I have an insane hatred of draft legal racing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 6

2016-08-18 6:57 PM

User image

Connecticut
Subject: I have an insane hatred of draft legal racing
I'm watching the Olympic Tri on screen right now and just renewing my undying hatred of draft legal racing.

If triathlon was a team event it would make sense, but it's not. There is no reason for a fast swimmer to hold back because they need to be in a pack and this isn't the Tour de France where we need everyone to hang out in a pack.

I'm no expert but I'd like to hear others and why they like it/ hate it. It seems like the future, so I'd like to like it eventually.

2016-08-18 8:26 PM
in reply to: kmonie360

Sarasota, Florida
Subject: RE: I have an insane hatred of draft legal racing
It's kind of team effort by country?
After watching the women's cycling I get it. Seeing Annemeik crash then Mara Abbott lose at the last minute was hard to watch.
It appeared to me 3 of them were working together drafting off of each other cycling their ranks out to recover some and gain on Abbot.
It worked. At the last few seconds they stripped her of every medal.

With all of that said, it certainly makes it more intense to watch.
I kind of like it both ways to be honest but as a racer, I would prefer draft illegal. I feel it's more fair and less tactical.
Not sure if I can even acknowledge drafting as a strategy. I suppose I'd give one a try some day.
2016-08-18 8:59 PM
in reply to: runtim23

User image

Pro

It's the best triathlon racing there is.  Lots of strategy and great racing.  Do you have any idea what it is to run a 30:00 10K after a bike that easily hits 1100-1400 watts out of the turns?  I've watched IM winners get schooled by 16-17 year old Jr. elites in a draft legal sprint race. It's FAST.....which is what racing is supposed to be.  Long course triathlon is a joke as far as I'm concerned....the field is full of duffers.