General Discussion Triathlon Talk » OD in a month- times are questionable Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-21 8:18 PM

Subject: OD in a month- times are questionable
Hello All,
Ok so I'm running my first OD in a month and I'm not impressed with my times. Im a newbie and this is my 1st season. My OD race rules state we have 4 hours to complete race (Arlington International NC). I currently follow a program and am looking only to complete TRI not to win it. As of now 1500 meter swim takes me 40 mins, between 1:45- 2 hours to do 33 mile bike ride on bike paths +roads (w/ped traffic, car traffic,and other bikers), and 10 k run takes me about 70-75 mins. I train 5 days a week. Am I in over my head? I'm not looking to get any amazimg times just to complete it. I ve run two sprint tris already.

2016-08-21 9:02 PM
in reply to: ngonzales12

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Subject: RE: OD in a month- times are questionable
Why would you ask if you're over your head? If you know how long it takes you to do each leg, you can obviously figure that you're not in jeopardy of missing the cutoff.

Am I missing something?

First time you run that (really.....any) distance, don't worry about your overall time. Just get it done and have fun.

Isn't the swim current-assisted?
2016-08-21 11:45 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Langley, BC, 'Wet Coast' Canada
Perhaps the previous reply was not the welcome you had hoped for..

Welcome! With 2 prior triathlons under your belt, I guess you have gotten the newbie nerves outta the way. Looks like you can do the Olympic!
Have fun
2016-08-22 4:13 AM
in reply to: triosaurus

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
My intent was to have the OP NOT view the distance as something larger than life. It's just 3 legs that they already know they can make.

Go and have fun.
2016-08-22 5:40 AM
in reply to: #5196071