General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie in Utah Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-23 11:37 AM

Subject: Newbie in Utah
My name is Emily and I live in Northern Utah.

I fell into the tri world very recently, and basically, by accident. You see, I am a teacher who thoroughly enjoys her summers off Each summer, I pick a new hobby or sport to try, and this summer I happened to pick swimming, biking, and running. It was halfway through July that I even realized I had inadvertently picked tri sports, and that I ought to do some kind of race to culminate my summer. Not that I'm looking to "race," per se. I'd just like to FINISH something!

So I just barely (as in this very morning!) registered for the HIM in Bear Lake, Utah in September. Yes, a HIM as my first race. Sometimes my thirst for adventure (or just my stupidity?) exceeds my common sense.

I've always been into sports, but typically it's been only for fun.... before this summer, I never even bothered to calculate swim distances or running times. Before I became a member, I found myself on this site several times looking up tips and discussions. As a newbie, I've really appreciated the advice that experienced racers have shared... keep it up! I'm looking forward to stalking more discussions and maybe even sharing once I have something intelligent to contribute.

I enjoy training alone, but would love to find like-minded people in my area.

Thanks for reading! And thanks in advance for all the advice I'll get from you

2016-09-07 1:23 PM
in reply to: eshess

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Newbie in Utah

Hi Emily! Welcome to BT and triathlon. You can finish Bear Lake just pace moderately and keep going. Good luck!

2016-09-21 9:37 AM
in reply to: IndoIronYanti

Thanks for the vote of support! I finished! 7:46, and one of the last to cross the line, but still made finished within the time limit!
2016-09-21 6:42 PM
in reply to: #5196326

New user