General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie - Missed 3 weeks of training, should I still race? (1 month til race) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-09-03 6:44 PM

Subject: Newbie - Missed 3 weeks of training, should I still race? (1 month til race)
Hello all,
I would love input on this:

I'm a newbie, never done a triathlon before. Following Joe Friel's beginner plan (sprint length) and doing great. With about 2 months til race (3 months already trained), I got an unexpected job in a new city and had to move, etc. Job is huge advance but has long hours so far. So I still squeezed in some workouts, but not even close to keep up with my training.

Bottom line: I've got 1 month til the sprint triathlon, and I really want to try to squeeze in my training and attempt the race. I know it won't be the performance I'd hoped for, but my heart is set on completing the race.

I've got the swim down, but the bike and run will be much more stressful at this point. It'll be a huge challenge. I don't want to attempt the race and have an awful time...wondering if more training is needed.

Should I try? This is the last race of the triathlon season. Or should I keep training and aim for April/May with a much better performance?

Race is October 1.

Thanks!

Edited by kmariesmyth 2016-09-03 6:46 PM

2016-09-03 8:05 PM
in reply to: kmariesmyth

, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Newbie - Missed 3 weeks of training, should I still race? (1 month til race)
Bottom line, you've got the swim down, and that's key. You can basically roll through the bike and walk/run the run if you have to. So without knowing more about you, and the course etc. you can most likely do this a okay. Don't overdo this last month, just keep it going and enjoy your first time!
2016-09-03 8:23 PM
in reply to: MikeD1

Subject: RE: Newbie - Missed 3 weeks of training, should I still race? (1 month til race)
Thank you!! Much appreciated
2016-09-04 1:54 AM

User image

Hereford, England