General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Starting from zero Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-09-04 2:52 AM

Subject: Starting from zero
Hello everybody!!!

Recently I have decided that I want to train for a triathlon for summer 2017: a sprint would be ok and if possible an olympic one would be great.
I have always practiced quite a lot of sport and in the last 3 years I ran half marathons (PB 1h 37') and played a lot of squash (at least 3 times a week).
Now I decided to stop (at least for a while) playing squash and try something more challenging.
I can swim and I can ride a bike but I am not trained at all.

My idea is to stick to some training plans like "sprint/olympic in 20 weeks" but before I need to build some endurance/core and as I have more or less 45 weeks before my race I can use 25 weeks for build up and then I would still have 20 weeks for the plan.

I have a subscription to a gym close to my office and one close to home (I use it mainly for treadmill and recently some stationary bike)
I have a pool close to home
I have a stationary bike at home and an old Mountain bike (I will invest for a new bike this spring when I will be sure about my 100% commitment)
I live in the countryside and I can run / ride with no problem during the weekend

As I work (as everybody more or less) 8 hours a day I could dedicate following time:
Mon-Fri 1-1.5 hours in gym before work
Mon-Fri 1-1.5 hours at home after dinner
2 days a week (Wed-Fri) I may go to swimming pool
Sat-Sun at least one long workout (run/ride)

Could you please help me in making a program/routine for this first part of training?

Up to now I am trying to do one thing each day (like M-run T-bike W-swim T-run....) but I am scared to burn out easily as I see that after one evening on the stationary the day after running is hard....

I am completely new to training program and I never dove/used before therefore everything would help

Thanks a lot!!!!

2016-09-04 3:22 AM