General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon GPS Watch. Need help!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-09-11 2:39 PM

User image

Subject: Triathlon GPS Watch. Need help!!
Hi everyone! I'm still fairly new to the sport of triathlon having just finished my second one last month, but I'm already hooked and am looking to invest more time (and moolah) into this sport to improve on each discipline! To that end, I'm looking into buying a multisport GPS watch that can track my runs, bikes, and swim. Now I've done some research and am aware there are a multitude of choices in the current market (Garmin 735/920XT/Vivoactive Suunto Ambit3, TomTom Multisport GPS Watch) that each have their own specialty, but I'm looking for the following, in order of importance

1) Able to record all 3 disciplines fairly accurately
2) Must record heart rate monitor (including swim), with no HRM straps necessary
3) Battery life must be able to last a full half ironman, and ideally a full ironman (if I ever get to it)
4) Syncs effortlessly to fitness apps such as Runkeeper, Strava

The rest is less important to me. Which watches would you recommend, based on personal experiences, etc. ? Price is also a big consideration of mine, so if I can get something that is only a little "worse" (in the sense of 1-4 above) for much less the price.

Thanks!

2016-09-11 4:09 PM
in reply to: meowmasta

User image

Extreme Veteran
Langley, BC, 'Wet Coast' Canada
Subject: RE: Triathlon GPS Watch. Need help!!
Have you seen dcrainmaker website yet?
Ray does a very detailed analysis of all things that are tri-related tech.

2016-09-13 6:20 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Of the ones you list, you definitely do NOT want the Garmin vivoactiv or the Tom Tom multisport (not enough functionality for triathletes). I don't know much about the Suunto...