General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-10-10 3:26 PM

Subject: Ironman?
Hello. I am 35. Just ran a sub 3 marathon (have run 7 marathons total and have been running for a good 10 years - many half marathons).

I have a Trek 2.1 roadbike that I ride from time to time -- did several 60 mile rides last summer, but I'm not on it a lot.

I have done 2 duathlons - both at the Olympic distance, in the last couple years.

I would like to try to finish a full ironman triathlon in about a year. I have no swimming background - I know how to swim, but not really well.

If my goal is to simply finish, that is something that could be done with a years training and using my current bike, yes?

What should my goal be for the next 8 months or so? Swim and bike as much as possible?

Thanks

2016-10-10 3:41 PM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Ironman?
Originally posted by waterbottle

What should my goal be for the next 8 months or so? Swim and bike as much as possible?

Yes.
j/k
sorta

I'm no expert and can't speak to specifics. Although I came from a similar position as you in swimming. I knew how. But did I know how to do it for 2+ miles?
Nope.
But, I think of all of them, it's the one you can make the fastest relative advances in.

Me before putting effort into swimming (beyond "swimming some laps" 1-3 times a year)
-swim 200 yards, look around for awhile, breast stroke for 10-30 seconds, swim another 200 yards, maybe even roll over on my back for 10-20 seconds half way through
-finish middle-ish pack in the swim. there's always TONS of not-so-accomplished swimmers, especially in the more local races

Me after swimming 3 times a week for ~3 months:
-swimming statistically is my best leg against my age group, top third? top quarter?
-I can put my head down and swim until it's time to get out

Now I'm actually working on 'swimming faster'