General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Aero Bar Reach Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-11-15 8:41 AM

Subject: Aero Bar Reach Question
Hello all!

I have a question about optimal adjustment of my aero bars. I am new to riding a Tri bike and I am looking to try to train the most optimal position I can. I rest my elbows on the aero bar pads to support my weight (I'm 250 lbs 6'0) . Is it better from a performance standpoint to lengthen my aero bar extensions on my tri bike which will flatten me out on the aero bars or shorten the length and ride in a more compact shoulders tucked in position? The in adjustment is a few inches longer or shorter on how far the aero bars come out.

Both positions seem workable for me. Both are comfortable. A slightly more comfortable position right now may be lengthen the aero bars because I can rest my weight better on the front of the bars but I believe I can hold both positions equally. I don't see noticeable effort differences peddling in both positions. Which position would you recommend I train my body to stay in?

Additionally: I have a t3 profile design aero bars. I am currently riding with the aero bars hand grips straight. Should I switch to them slighting tilted in? Would that be a performance increase?

Edited by dnewman84 2016-11-15 8:45 AM

2016-11-15 8:43 PM
in reply to: dnewman84

User image

Subject: RE: Aero Bar Reach Question
It's my understanding that the ideal position is one in which each arm bends to form a right angle. So I think this will limit the adjustment since to get the 90 degree angle, your elbows (which should be rested on the pads) can't be too far forward and they can't be too far back (though I have yet to see anyone that has this problem).