Subject: Bee keepers
Any out there in BTlandia?

2017-06-05 7:44 AM
in reply to: mdg2003

User image

Master
Cumming, Georgia
Subject: RE: Bee keepers

Wow I haven't been on BT in forever and decided this morning just to pop in and see what is going on and I see this post.  

Yes I have bees.  This is my first year at bee keeping.  I started with 2 hives.  One hive is doing really well.  The other hive has struggled but is making a comeback. I lost a queen and they raised a new queen but she decided to swarm immediately.  Luckily there was another queen cell that she didn't destroy before the warm.  That queen has emerged, mated, and is now laying.  I'll have to take some honey from the one hive and move over so they don't starve over winter.  With all of that I will still get a little honey this year.

2017-06-05 8:18 AM
in reply to: csharp1171

User image

Pro
Tejas
Excellent. Do you have any good online resources you can share? Mostly looking for supplies and ideas how to get set up. Looks like this project won't go in this year, as I understand it's too late in the year to attempt establishing a hive. I'm in the research stage right now and in no rush to get going. I'm reading one of the "idiot's guide to" books and can't put it down. I've always wondered how things work in a hive, but didn't have a clue exactly how much really was going on until now! Pretty amazing process.
2017-06-05 8:30 AM

User image

Master
Cumming, Georgia