General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Changing clothes? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-06-29 11:06 AM

Subject: Changing clothes?
I have no experience past sprints, but a friend of a friend mentioned the other day that he took too long in transition in I believe a half because he had to wait to get into the changing tent.

I assumed you wear your tri suit or whatever you want from start to finish in the longer races too. Granted a changing tent of some kind sound better for reapplying body glide or any other anti chafe, but I had not even considered changing clothes. What is normal for a half to full distance?

Little (GIANT) things like this are great info that forums like this can provide for us dummies!

2017-06-29 12:00 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Subject: RE: Changing clothes?
It depends on the race. In an Ironman (TM) branded race they do not allow anything in transition except your bicycle. The odd race will allow you to have your shoes clipped to the pedals but that is it. Everything you need for T1 and T2 is contained in marked bags.

You grab your T1 bag as you come out of the water and run into a change tent. Per ITU rules public nudity is forbidden, hence the change tent. You take out all your gear for the bike from the bag and then put all of your swim gear back into the bag.

In T2 it is the same. You drop your bike off (you rack it yourself or hand it off to a volunteer), grab your T2 bag then head to the change tent to remove your cycling gear and put on your running gear.