General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First triathlon bike? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-07-26 4:44 AM

Subject: First triathlon bike?
Hello!

I am just getting into triathlon bike training. I am a decent athlete with swimming and running, rides city bikes and mountain bikes often, but never rode triathlon bikes before. How different it will be?
Anyway, as I am getting into triathlon, I need a bike to start with. I don't want anything too expensive until I get better. I don't prefer any brand in particular, but this Cannondale road bike Slice 105 looks good. As I have said already, I am not an expert, but my other two bikes are Cannondales. If this isn't the best choice or you can suggest a better model in a similar budget or cheaper, please advise.
Any suggestions or help regarding this will be really helpful.

Thanks!

2017-07-26 7:25 AM
in reply to: fkris

User image

Katy, Texas
Subject: RE: First triathlon bike?
I wouldn't call 3K a "starter" bike. Also, for the 3k with what you picked, you're really only getting a decent frame and components.

In my opinion, you could do a lot more with that price point. Go with a used carbon triathlon frame with entry level components, and spend the remaining money on race wheels and a power meter. Or, better yet, find someone selling that package together. At that price point, you should have zero issues and the race wheels and power meter will go a long way to making you faster.
2017-07-26 7:40 AM

Master
Northern IL

If you're already riding a bike well then you should be able to get it with a tri bike. They feel different and will likely take a few rides to adapt though.

A lot of bikes these days will be at least ok in terms of quality, but more important is knowing your fit position. Then you can see what bikes will fit to that without resorting to oddly sized pieces to make it work. That will help keep the bike more balanced and handling as intended too.

2017-07-26 8:05 AM