General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help with Kickr snap and power Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-11-30 8:49 AM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Help with Kickr snap and power
First, a little background so I can explain my question. I have been doing triathlons for about 7 years now and really enjoy the iron distance races. I just finished IM Florida which was my 4th full and plan to do Lake Placid next year. I don't say any of this to brag but to point out that I am not brand new to triathlon training or biking in particular. I have never actually trained with power until getting the Kickr. I had previously done an FTP test on a computrainer just to test fitness but that was it.

With all of that said, here is my question (or problem.) I just can't seem to get my calibration correct on the machine. When I tested my FTP on the computrainer a few years ago I came out right at 200 watts. I weight about 155-160 lbs so this has me with a power to weight ratio in the 2.8 range. I am no premier cyclist but I do average 5:30-5:45 on an IM bike course so this seems about right to me.

I set up my Kickr and did the FTP test last July while in the middle of IM training and my FTP on the Kickr came out to 187. This brings my power to weight in around 2.66. While I was surprised it dropped like it did, I trained at this FTP and just figured it was a difference in equipment. However, last night I did the 45 min FTP test on Zwift after calibrating the Kickr and my FTP was 167. I examined my 20 minute effort and my HR averaged 170 so I know I was pushing my hardest on the test. This would put me in the 2.38 power to weight range.

I know I am not a superbiker,but I also have been doing this long enough to know that I can hold well over 167 watts for an hour. On top of that, it just "feels" like the resistance can be all over the place while I ride. Sometimes 200 watts will feel like an average FTP and other times I feel like I can't hold it for 15 seconds.