General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie bike training question. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-01-28 7:01 PM

User image

Subject: Newbie bike training question.
Hey gang. I’ve looked around at the options for smart trainers and online training services such as zwift. However, I’m not ready to drop at least $400 for a trainer and another $10-15 a month right now.

I’m stumbled upon the CTXC AND GCN YouTube pages and have been using them for the past week. Does anyone here have any experience with these videos? Am I wasting my time and should just bite the bullet and get the trainer and subscription? I just want to make sure I’m not spinning aimlessly when I could be doing something more structured.

Thanks!

2018-01-28 7:43 PM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Newbie bike training question.
What equipment are you currently using? Are you using a trainer to use those youtube videos?

As far as a smart trainer, I think a dumb trainer + power meter is a much better investment for around the same cost.

I personally just use a dumb trainer + vPower app (free app in garmin store) + garmin speed/cadence sensor to train with. I think my dumb trainer was $60 on amazon. The vPower app shows me my power inside and on outside rides and is consistent with zwift/TR virtual power. Not sure what an actual power meter would tell me that the free app doesn't.

Edited by toomanyhobbies 2018-01-28 7:46 PM
2018-01-28 8:01 PM
in reply to: #5236399

User image

I’m currently using my cervelo p2 on a “dumb” mag trainer. I have a wahoo speed and cadence sensor. As far as I can tell the videos rely on PRE. I may look into the Garmin power sensor you mentioned.
2018-01-28 9:13 PM
in reply to: Parkland

User image

Champion
Columbia, South Carolina

I've got nothing against 'smart' trainers and the like but you absolutely do not need such a thing to train well.

Have a look at this:  http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=2332