General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner Bike Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-03-15 4:35 PM

Subject: Beginner Bike Question
Hi everyone, my name is John and this is my first post on this forum. I have a bike question for you.

First, a little bit about myself. I've been running for a couple of years and mainly do marathons but I've done 1 50k trail race. My main goal is to work up to the longer ultra distances. I have an itch right now that is keeping me from doing that. The next thing I HAVE to do is an Ironman. Of course I'll gradually get to the full distance and plan on doing a sprint tri late this year.

Now to the only question I have so far. I went to my local bike shop and looked at bikes in my price range. I wanted a bike that was good enough to finish a full distance Ironman, commute to work, and to give me something to do on days off from running. I don't plan on doing triathlons over a very long period of time, I'd just like to scratch this off my list and get back to ultra marathons.
I went into the store wanting to look at the Allez line made by Specialized. They're $750. I ended up putting a 20% deposite down for the Specialized Diverge E5 Sport for $1,150. I felt that it was a good "do it all" bike which is what I wanted. The bike comes in tomorrow and they're going to put it together and fit me. QUESTION: Will this bike get me across the finish line given that I train and get my fitness in line? Should I shell out a little more and get the Roubaix? It's $1,900 and I really don't want to stretch my wallet to that point but I might be able to. I doubt the bike shop will be that concerned about making more (although I'd feel bad about them ordering a bike and switching.)

Also, I get that I should have asked this before purchasing. Just wanted your thoughts. Thanks!!

2018-03-15 7:19 PM
in reply to: jwd

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Beginner Bike Question