General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Disheartening Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-04-08 8:12 PM

User image

New user
Lesmurdie, Perth
Subject: Disheartening
I have been training for Triathlons/Duathlons for 3 months now, I am fairly Fit and am at a Healthy Weight, but during my 2nd Duathlon I was getting passsed by so many people, including people a lot bigger than me. In a sport where the leaner usually excel, it was a little disheartening, it it just an experience thing, the more races I do the moer confident I come and eventually the more people I can pass

2018-04-08 8:36 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Disheartening
Well, I have been training for almost ten years, including two world championships, and I am still getting passed by "bigger people", especially on the bike (I am about 115 pounds)! Triathlon is unusual in that you see people do well with a range of body types, because the demands of each sport are somewhat different. You tend to see swimmer/ bikers who are bigger and more powerfully built (having a very lean, runner-type build is not really an advantage on the bike, at least on a fairly flat course, because heavier riders will have higher absolute power), and then people from a run background (or at least that kind of physique) who tend to be leaner/smaller. Look at a pro start or at Kona age-groupers and you will see that even there (where, clearly, no one is carrying too many extra pounds), there is a wider range of body types than with, say, elite swimmers or marathoners.

In addition, even lean runner-types may end up getting passed on the run by people who look chunky, if their bike fitness is not up to snuff. There is a big difference between having the physique/training to run fast, and being able to pull off a strong run after a hard bike. This has been one of the hardest things for me to learn in triathlon!

Edited by Hot Runner 2018-04-08 8:37 PM
2018-04-08 10:20 PM