General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Wetsuit - go Basic or Fancy? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-04-21 4:19 PM

Subject: Wetsuit - go Basic or Fancy?
Hi all,
Training for my first 70.3 (Steelhead) in August. My first tri will be an Olympic in early June. In researching wetsuits, I see the more budget friendly Xterra, looks like the basic models have a thicker neoprene (up to 5mm) covering more of your body. Perhaps for greater bouyancy in general? And then you have the fancy, high end suits like Roka, that boast more strategically placed thicker panels, mixed with thinner panels.

So my question is as follows: I am new to this. I feel comfortable in the water, I am not super fast but I am not slow. Definitely improving and I look forward to the swim. As a beginner do I just stick to buying a basic Xterra model? Is super bouyant a good thing? Or is there merit to investing in a higher end suit? I will not be winning my age group, but I hope to do pretty well in the swim and bike. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

2018-04-21 6:03 PM
in reply to: Trojaspoute

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Wetsuit - go Basic or Fancy?
Kinda depends on your needs and budget. I have owned both "basic" and "higher end" models. The "basic" suits are good at keeping you warm and giving a lot of extra buoyancy, which many less confident swimmers depend on to get through the swim. (Not good, but it's a reality for some people). But that is at the expense of a bit of mobility and comfort in some areas like the shoulders. Personally, I swam fine in my basic suit, but never found it really comfortable and didn't enjoy OWS training in it.