General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 1st Time Event Concerns Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-04-23 9:22 PM

Subject: 1st Time Event Concerns
Hey Ya'll - I've got my first event coming up in May and since I've never done this before - I have the normal worries going through my head....but also - and maybe this is showing a subliminal distrust for people that I didn't know existed in my own mind....but I'm worried about my stuff getting stolen in the transition zone.

Is that a thing? Does that happen?

I'm going to the event by myself a couple hours from home and don't have anyone going with me. I'll need to leave my car keys, phone, etc...with my stuff in the transition area. Plus - you lay out all your gear - which is expensive.

Does your gear ever go missing?

Maybe I'm just making this up in my head. LOL

Should I be worried?

Edited by jpetrehn 2018-04-23 9:23 PM

2018-04-23 11:11 PM
in reply to: #5242187

Subject: RE: 1st Time Event Concerns
I had my first race on the weekend and had some of the same concerns. Needed to have phone handy and no bags were allowed to be left in transition. Ended up leaving my phone tucked in my run shoe to be out of sight and out of mind. Moved it to my bike shoe in T2.

There were a lot of people with much more expensive gear and kit in transition so I figured the risk of theft is very minimal. Also there was a certain degree of security as access to transition was only for athletes wearing a numbered wrist band.

I left my bag with some extra gear in it under a tree out of the transition area and nothing went missing.
2018-04-23 11:13 PM
in reply to: jpetrehn

User image

Extreme Veteran
Penticton, BC