General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Improving Swim Endurance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-04-29 1:31 PM

Subject: Improving Swim Endurance
I am a beginner and want to improve my endurance? I can comfortably swim one length of the pool but have not been able to swim 2 lengths without stopping. Can someone suggests workouts to help improve my swimming endurance?

Thank you.

2018-04-29 7:59 PM
in reply to: tazrocky

User image

Official BT Coach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Gold member
Subject: RE: Improving Swim Endurance

Originally posted by tazrocky I am a beginner and want to improve my endurance? I can comfortably swim one length of the pool but have not been able to swim 2 lengths without stopping. Can someone suggests workouts to help improve my swimming endurance? Thank you.

As a beginner it is a reasonable certainty that you have little swim fitness, however you likely have a bigger limiter than your fitness.  Swimming is highly technical.  At this point in your swimming career, you are probably "beating the water into submission," rather than swimming.  If you have poor technique you will have a very difficult time building fitness and becoming a faster, more efficient swimmer.  

The very best thing you can do is to get some lessons.  Spend some time with a qualified coach/instructor and learn the fundamentals, then progress to swimming freestyle.  It's valuable to learn all four of the competition strokes but since freestyle is the fastest stroke, that's the one you will be focusing on.  You can possibly find a coach or instructor at the local YMCA, perhaps a local swim team.  Absent those options, there are countless videos on-line that can help.  the problem with videos is you won't know if you are "doing it right."  Having "eyes-on-deck" in the form of a coach or instructor is the surest, fastest path to swimming with proper technique.