General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Just did my first tri. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-05-21 4:59 PM

Subject: Just did my first tri.
I did my first Triathlon on Saturday, May 19th. It was the Sand Hollow Triathlon down in St. George. I've been working on training for the last 2 months, but honestly, I am getting the the point now athletically where I wanted to be when I Started the tri training.

I finished the triathlon though I was DFL (which I suppose is still better than DNF). That's OK. My goal with this tri was to complete it.

A bit about me.
I am 38 and have been driving a desk too long. I love mountain biking and hiking, but I have let myself get out of shape to the point that I struggle pedaling up the hills on my mountain bike. My goals with the Triathlon was to have a good well rounded set of activities that keeps the work outs interesting, changed up and helps me get into better physical shape. On that aspect, I am doing very well. I've been pretty good about doing my work outs consistently. I did miss a couple weeks worth of work outs.

Per my first tri, I had a little bit of difficulty in the water. During my training, in a pool, I was able to do the 750m swim un about 18 minutes. The bike ride in 45 minutes and the run... In about an hour.

During my triathlon, because I had a panic attack during my first open water swim, I rented a wet suit to help with buoyancy during the swim -so I could roll to my back, stop panicking and then keep going. I think the wet suit was also too restrictive, as I couldn't take full breaths without having to work against the wet suit compressing my chest. The swim took me 40 minutes, but according to my HRM My total time moving was just shy of 13 minutes... eek!

Anyhow, I am planning on another tri, the Jordanelle Tri which is in August. I am excited to get on the training regimen for this!

-James

2018-05-22 9:22 AM
in reply to: 0

Subject: RE: Just did my first tri.