General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Cramps In Base Of Feet Whilst Swimming...Need Some Help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-05-28 8:07 AM

User image

Veteran
Elmira, ON
Subject: Cramps In Base Of Feet Whilst Swimming...Need Some Help
When swimming, I'm running into some issues with the muscles in the base of my feet cramping up.

It seems to happen more in the summer when I'm running a lot more... and when looking at a diagram of a foot (bare with me, I am not an anatomy expert) it is the Abductor Hallucis, and the Flexor Digitorum Brevis.

It happens in both feet...sometimes one or both at the same time. What sets it off is a sprint or fast swim, especially when kicking off the wall I can feel the muscles start to cramp up when streamlined coming upto the surface. In a Triathlon, I have to physically stop, stretch out the foot until the spasm stops then carry on gingerly for a few minutes. In a 100m sprint or something at a swim competition its essentially a disaster. Just try and extend the foot to keep it from completely cramping up.

Can someone help me with this? Is there something I can do to stop this issue? Stretches? Strengthing techniques? Why is this happening? Is it common?

Any help is appreciated.

2018-05-28 3:50 PM
in reply to: TheCrownsOwn

User image

Subject: RE: Cramps In Base Of Feet Whilst Swimming...Need Some Help
The same thing happened to me for the first couple of years of swimming. I was told to drink more or take in more electrolytes. Neither worked but eventually they went away for the most part. I think that they were being stressed and once I whipped them into shape, they didn't cramp any more.
2018-05-28 5:37 PM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member