General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How to increase swim cadence? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-06-02 8:25 PM

User image

Subject: How to increase swim cadence?
I started triathlon 5 years ago. Couldn't swim so it's been a "long" journey of improving my swim technique. I'm self taught so a lot of trial and error. Have done 4 full IM. My fastest wetsuit swim was 1.13 and my fastest non wetsuit was 1.20.

I seem to be a better pool swimmer than open water. Comparing to my wife who is the opposite. So been trying to increase my cadence as that seems to be common advice to improve open water speed.

I now have what I feel is a decent catch and pull, meaning that if I do it properly it is so heavy too pull my hand that I can't sustain it with higher cadence. It's like trying to spin faster on a heavy gear. I'm comfortable at about 28 strokes per 50m.

Finally my question. Any swim experts here who can tell me if it makes sense to deliberately sacrifice some of the efficiency of my pull I order to achieve a higher cadence?
Or any other thoughts or ideas?

2018-06-03 5:07 PM
in reply to: knuta99

User image

Veteran
South Windsor, CT
Subject: RE: How to increase swim cadence?
http://www.totalimmersion.net/blog/whats-best-stroke-count-found-mi...

it's more complicated that that, of course, but this is useful to think about
2018-06-04 8:16 AM

User image

Originally posted by knuta99

I'm comfortable at about 28 strokes per 50m...

Any swim experts here who can tell me if it makes sense to deliberately sacrifice some of the efficiency of my pull I order to achieve a higher cadence?