General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » First one in the books! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-08-13 11:50 AM

User image

Subject: First one in the books!
Hi there, longtime lurker here! Just completed my first Tri on Saturday, since I wrote it up and submitted it for the contest going on, I thought I'd share with everyone as well!....

I remember my first triathlon like it was yesterday. Actually, it was two days ago. It has been a bucket list item for me for years. Every time I started a new workout routine (or tried to) it has been geared towards completing a sprint tri. Three years ago I even registered for a local race, but chickened out the night before.
Thanks to a recent career move, around the start of the New Year, I started training in hopes of doing a late summer triathlon. The setbacks I’ve encountered in the last eight months include but are not limited to: pulling a hamstring in softball, being without transportation because of a car accident, and rolling my ankle….dancing…to Vanilla Ice. It seemed like I was stuck in a cycle of really focusing on preparing for a triathlon, then something bad would happen and it would all fall apart for a few weeks, and the whole cycle would repeat itself.
Around the beginning of July I had strung together a couple weeks of good workouts and thought maybe I will do that sprint tri the second weekend in September (the only I bailed on three years ago).
Then my fiancée informed me that we have to go to a wedding that day.
This past Friday I was planning a couple really long (by my standards) workouts for the weekend. My fiancée was heading out of town for a bachelorette party and I was at work googling races I might be able to do now that the one I had originally planned on wasn’t going to work out.