General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Funny Training Story...Be More Prepared Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-08-15 8:39 AM

User image

, Pennsylvania
Subject: Funny Training Story...Be More Prepared
So...

I travel for a living, or so it seems, and I have to get in workouts in strange places. Yesterday saw a 3 1/2 hour drive in the morning and a swim at the Sewickley, PA YMCA. This part went well according to plans, except that I forgot my "business socks" and had my lunch meeting with leather loafers and no socks. I don't think I am that guy...

After lunch I get into my 3 1/2 hour drive home which was planning to be interrupted by a bike/run brick at an abandoned section of the PA Turnpike (pike 2 bike) which I had never been on before, or for that matter researched much about. When I get there I do a gear check...
CO2 canister, check
Tube, check
Multi-Tool, check
Light, shite, I forgot to charge the light on the front of my bike so it is only staying in blink mode. How long can the "tunnels" be?
Phone, check
Helmet, check

I got my running gear ready for my return to the truck and headed up the hill to the start of the Pike.

WOW, this doesn't look great. But, I am sure that it's going to get better. How could a section of unmaintained turnpike not get better than broken road with broken glass all over it? I trudge along at a pretty slow clip, trying to weave around the better spots on the road and in the distance I see the first tunnel. No problem I think, until the light from behind me fades and I realize that I am in the dark, yup the real dark.