General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Keys/wallet/etc Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-08-20 10:28 PM

Subject: Keys/wallet/etc
I am a rookie and just wondering for my first half Ironman when my wife drops me off and I check in will there be a place to store all my personal belongings?

2018-08-21 8:38 AM
in reply to: Rtmatlin

User image

Carbondale, Illinois
Subject: RE: Keys/wallet/etc
Likely this depends on the race. I've never done a race with a secure storage area.

My suggestion is to not have anything extra that you won't NEED. Ask your wife to hang out for a few minutes so you can give her back your wallet (presuming you need ID to check in for race). Then only take what you need into transition with you.

I set up my transition and then take everything back to the car if it isn't needed. This includes things like my transition bag, extra stuff like sunscreen (apply first!), wallet, etc. I even leave my car keys in my car (locked), but keep the dongle that will open the doors. I leave the dongle at transition, just under the towel I use to lay all my stuff out on, but if you are concerned, tuck it in your bike bag--just don't lose it during the race!

Good luck!
2018-08-21 9:44 AM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
You're not going to have a place to put anything except what you can fit in your transition bag. The least amount of stuff you bring the better.

I would only bring what you absolutely need, so if your wife drops you off, leave the keys with her. Only take you ID and USAT card.
2018-08-21 10:28 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Olathe
Transition... and sometimes things tend to walk off, so bring the necessities and leave the rest in the car.
2018-08-21 4:24 PM
in reply to: #5248265

Awesome guys. Thank you for the info. I can now check off that box as one less thing to worry about
2018-08-21 9:53 PM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member