General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you do other sports? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2018-08-21 11:51 PM

Subject: Do you do other sports?
Aside from Triathlon (or one of the sports therein) do you do anything else seriously? If so, what sport, and how do you think it affects your triathlon? Just curious. I've been boxing pretty seriously for about 6 months and feel better than ever, but I also just got my worst swim time ever...... so I dunno what to think.

(FYI you want a workout? Try jumping rope. My boxing trainer makes me do it, I haven't done it since playground days, and after 5 minutes I'm dripping with sweat)

2018-08-22 12:06 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Do you do other sports?

Sure....but here's the thing....

If you want to be better at doing triathlon then swim more, bike more, and run more.....it's really that simple.

Lacking the above, boxing won't help you in triathlon, lifting weights won't help you in triathlon, playing softball won't help you in triathlon, bowling won't help you in triathlon, fishing won't help you in triathlon, and on and on.

This is swim, bike, run.  You get better at it by doing those three things......don't be fooled by anyone who tells you differently.

Now, if you are talking about just finishing a sprint or Oly distance triathlon.....do whatever you want....it's not that hard if you are in shape.  It's three things most people have been doing since they were kids. I'd swim enough to be sure you don't drown, but that's your call based on ability....I know people who can basically not swim train at all and finish in the top 10% of the swim in an AG triathlon....but they were club or HS swimmers....they can actually swim, unlike most people who do triathlon. 

But, if you want to get better at triathlon, no amount of boxing or anything else will replace the time you could have spent swimming, biking, or running.