General Discussion Triathlon Talk » TRI BIKE Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-11-06 2:37 PM

Subject: TRI BIKE
Had a few questions regarding a tri bike. I completed my 1st Sprint 2 months ago and fell in love with the sport. I completed the Sprint on a mountain bike just to see if I liked the sport and now that I do, I have a few question/comments. This forum seems to answer a lot of my questions so I'll go ahead and list them to see what you think

1. I have never been fitted for a bike so I don't know what size I am. Can I just go to a bike shop and get sized without a bike?
2. Do all tri bikes cost that much? (Really the #1 reason what is holding me back)
3. Is there a site I can go to for used/cheaper tri bikes? Including the classified forum here
4. I want to do a HIM in the next 2 years so a Road bike is out of the question from what I've researched so far, right?

I guess these are my main questions/comments. Total newbie when it comes to this sport but love absolutely every minute of it so that's why I figured I would ask the Tri-Community here. Thank you for any responses

2018-11-06 4:18 PM
in reply to: jdwyer02

User image

Subject: RE: TRI BIKE
Welcome to the sport!

1. If you go to a good fitter they will tell you what your stack and reach measurements are and will help you find a bike that best fits those coordinates.

2. I purchased my Cervelo P2 used from Facebook Marketplace for $500. Right now is a good time to be in the market. 2019 models are coming out so stores will want to liquidate older year models. You should be able to find a good, used triathlon bike for under $1000 if you are patient, you just have to make sure it's a good fit for you.

3. Craigslist, mybikeshop.com, slowtwitch classifieds, bikesdirect.com, nashbar.com, online swap meet for cyclists on Facebook, Tri n Sell it on Facebook, etc. Don't be scared to buy used!