General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman Blues - Post IMWI Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-11-25 12:05 PM

New user
Wauwatosa, WI
Subject: Ironman Blues - Post IMWI
So, 2018 was fantastic - I started training in January and raced IMWI in September! It was a perfect day but 2 1/2 months later I am having trouble getting motivated. I’m sure this is fairly common and I probably needed the break. Just feeling a little lazy...

How long did it take you to jump back in?

Thanks!

2018-11-25 12:58 PM
in reply to: Turner100

User image

Master
Atlanta, Georgia
Subject: RE: Ironman Blues - Post IMWI
It's a common dynamic...I will say the preferred technique is to get back in the same routine you had in the weeks leading up to the race, albeit at lower volume. Since it's been a couple of months since your A race for the year, I would get a couple of early year events on your calendar but not necessarily related to tri; trail races for instance. Something/anything to get yourself moving again...

I just did IM #10 spread out over the last 12 years and I'm certain that always having something to work towards is what keeps me moving. I'm also certain that keeping things fresh is key. YMMV.

Best of luck with your training..
2018-11-25 1:08 PM
in reply to: #5252096

User image

I took a week off after my A-race. Started getting restless so I got back into running and biking. Registered for a couple of 70.3 races in 2019. That helps keep me focussed.

Maybe look into doing some 5k races to keep you motivated to keep up the training. If I don’t have a race on the horizon I will make every excuse not to exercise.
2018-11-25 2:43 PM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member