General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Half Ironman/Marathon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-12-11 3:55 PM

User image

Subject: Half Ironman/Marathon
I am a triathlon and marathon newbie. I've been running(max distance was a half marathon last summer). I took up swimming for the first time about 3 months ago and am now up to 1300m in roughly 55mins. My bike is slow at roughly 50km in about 3hrs. I want to do a marathon in late May next year followed by the Calgary Half Ironman on August 11th. Looking for any training tips to achieve this goal. I'm curious how I should balance my training efforts. Any input is appreciated.

Edited by Knomadic 2018-12-11 4:01 PM

2018-12-11 4:53 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Cypress, Texas
Subject: RE: Half Ironman/Marathon

You are in the same boat as me.  I am looking to do a September 70.3 and have a long running event in March. 

You might look at the FIRST run less run faster Marathon Training plan for your race in May.  It is a 3 day a week running plan developed by runners that crossed over to Triathlon and noticed that they were running fast on three days of running a week with cross training than they were running 6 days a week.  LINK

Edited by BlueBoy26 2018-12-11 4:56 PM
2018-12-11 5:56 PM
in reply to: Knomadic

User image

Franklin, TN

That timing is suboptimal.  The marathon, especially for a newbie, is going to hurt and require some down-time for recovery (unless you walk a decent portion of it).  With that being said, if you're going to do it, I would: